Recharge Your Running Routine

Since signing up to run a marathon, I’ve been doing a lot of, well, running.

I try to avoid the above at all cost. That’s what Twitter is for. (source)

And while, yes, I’m certainly excited about this new challenge, sometimes running gets old, which has forced me to get creative.

Here are a few of tips – most, I’ve tried, others on the horizon – for recharging your running routine:

Download an app. I recently downloaded the iHeartRADIO app so I can listen to some of my favorite songs that I haven’t added to my iPod yet. This usually translate into me inpatiently waiting for my favorite pop station to play Taylor Swift’s new song. Go ahead and judge.

Don’t mess. (source)

Re-route. Instead of pounding away at the treadmill, explore your neighborhood or run at a local bike path. Tonight I logged five miles at a nearby bike path.

For anyone who’s curious, this evening I encountered the infamous human who avoids making eye contact with me or returning my gleeful waves like the plague. Unfortunately, I was denied – yet again – for the sixth time. But who’s counting? Obviously not me.

Fortunately, I was greeted by a scenic sunset.

This dude will not rain on my parade.

Get lost in a book. I recently downloaded the Cincy Library app, which allows you to check out audio versions of books. Hunger Games? Check.

I don’t mean to brag or anything, but @cincylibrary totally retweeted me. No big deal.

Buddy up. As strange as it sounds, I’ve been looking forward to longer runs more than short runs because I always run them with my training buddies. The camaraderie of running with other people is really encouraging. Hopefully I still share this sentiment when we run – eek! – 16 miles this Saturday.

It keeps us accountable. If they don’t stop, I don’t stop. If I get hit by a car, so do they.

Listen to a podcast. I haven’t tried this yet, but it’s on my to-do list. I’ve heard that This American Life, Jillian Michaels and CBC Radio have some excellent podcasts. Can’t wait to give ‘em a try!

Questions:

  • How do you revive your runs or workouts?
  • Have you ever listened to a podcast while running? If so, any recommendations?
3 thoughts on “Recharge Your Running Routine

  1. I laughed out loud at the part where you said “It keeps us accountable. If they don’t stop, I don’t stop. If I get hit by a car, so do they.”–One time liz and I were running at school and almost got hit by a car leaving a parking lot. Woops! Sorry mom and dad. After our lives flashed before our eyes, we went on our merry way and probably got ourselves fro-yo.

  2. Or the time we almost perished on the windy part of rapid run to walk to Wes’ house, just to see her driving away when we were five minutes from her house!

Leave a Reply

